This weekend will be the first time I have been to Wembley to watch a football match in my life, I have been on the tour at the old Wembley stadium but we had vouchers from the newspaper so it doesn’t really count. This in fact will be the biggest game that I have ever attended and one of the biggest games in my City history, well let’s be honest... there has not been many! The one that stands out for me is the Manchester City 2-2 Gillingham play-off final, I was only about 12 at the time but I still remember the day so well... as always we did things the hard way but it wouldn’t be City if we won 3-0. Anyway, that’s enough about the past, let’s talk about the future because it looks bright.

Picture
I am your typical City supporter in the sense that I am highly optimistic, the only difference with me and many others is that I am a realist. Now don’t go getting your knickers in a twist feeling offended that I am calling all City fans unrealistic because I am not, but there are some out there the same with every club. I like to look at things from more of a neutral point of view rather than with blue tinted shades... although I do wear them sometimes. That is exactly what I intend to do throughout this Blue Blog not only to get my personal opinion out there but to hopefully influence others to share my views.

Now let’s talk about City and the FA Cup Semi-Final between Manchester City and Manchester United at Wembley, what an occasion, what a venue and what a bag of nerves every Manchester City fan is going to be. If it was against any other opposition I would be slightly nervous but more optimistic, this time I just can’t stand the thought of losing. Not only will it see us out of the FA Cup and our only remaining chance of a trophy, it will give United the satisfaction of stopping us reaching a final. Honestly, the last thing on my mind is that we have the chance to beat United, I couldn’t care less who the opposition was as long as we reached the final. The thought of what a cup final day would feel like excites me beyond belief, the passion, the hope and the potential glory in our own hands. Is it your destiny and do the players want this win as much as I know every Manchester City fan around the world wants this win, I say around the world... although the majority of us are from Manchester ;)
Picture
I know deep down that this group of players are capable of beating anybody on their day, but so many times over the years and even as recent as Monday night against Liverpool has shown us that we are still the same old City inside. It was clear to see at Old Trafford that we can play some real football and if David Silva had placed his shot into the bottom corner rather than thrashing it wide we could have gone on to at least earn a draw. I cannot remember the last time somebody scored a proper one-on-one chance against us, yet in the derby we allowed it to happen. That’s how football is and that’s what makes football the most popular sport in the world, there is no such thing as a sure thing.

I was asked how I would approach this game by a fellow City fan and the answer I gave was an honest and realistic one. This isn’t a time for risks, it’s about picking the most reliable players that have performed the most consistently over recent months. A great example of this came from Manchester United themselves in the 2-1 win over Chelsea in the Champions League Quarter-Final. Alex Ferguson picked his most reliable players that he knew were not there to take risks and try new things, they were there to win no matter what. That is something we need to take on-board and try ourselves for once, but who would I choose in my starting eleven?
Picture
I can’t imagine that too many City fans would disagree with my choice, it looks a bit negative but as we saw against Liverpool if you take risks with fringe players in new positions it can all go pear shaped very quickly. I am not the biggest fan of Gareth Barry these days, he has declined as a footballer since the start of 2011 but he works hard and keeps it simple... most of the time. Zabaleta has been away for a while with his ill father but he is the best full-back defensively we have available and defiantly gets the nod in front of young Boyata, although I do believe Boyata has a huge future ahead of him. I said the best way was to not take risks, but is Balotelli as much as risk as Dzeko? Both are not performing anywhere near as well as Tevez but he is unfortunately out injured and I see Balotelli as someone who can change games in the blink of an eye. Should Balotelli not be performing up to standard then it’s Dzeko’s chance at grabbing the headlines, I can see this happening around the 60th minute mark anyway. You may be surprised by my choice of Milner ahead of Adam Johnson, this is simply because I feel Milner works back better and I have not been as impressed with Johnson away as much as I have at home. Johnson is more of an impact substitute at the moment in games like this for me, I would introduce him around the 70th minute mark as fresh legs running directly at the left-back. Everyone else would not be a surprise to most City fans, this team is clearly not our best possible team and doesn’t fill me with as much confidence as one that included both Carlos Tevez instead of Barry and Kolo Toure instead of Lescott but I do believe that this line-up has the potential go on and win at Wembley.

One thing is for certain, it is not going to be easy. Rooney being banned will only spur United on and they now have almost a full squad of fit players to choose from. We are without the likes of *Richards, Boateng, Kolo Toure and Carlos Tevez who in an ideal world would all possibly be starting or featuring in the match. Wow now, before you think I am making excuses already I am not, this is all part of football and is something that a club the size of ours should be able to deal with. At the end of the day, “Que Sera, Sera Whatever Will Be, Will Be” but I know I will be there sat in seat 256, row 3, block 142 having entered through entrance H enjoying every second of it... because that is what football and being a Manchester City fan is all about!!!
                                               
Please leave a comment with your thoughts on the FA Cup Semi-Final and what you thought about this blog using the comments section below... why not follow me on Twitter too @AndySlow.

Janine Ramsey
12/4/2011 08:44:13 pm

Your blog has got me even more fired up for Saturday and my first visit to the new Wemberlee!

Realistic and honest account with none of the hysterics that is currently seeping through some of the Mcfc fan forums and sites.

Cmon City! It's about pride and passion at the end of the day. Remember we are the best team (and fans!) in the land in all the world

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Picture
    Hello, my name is Andy and I am a lifelong Manchester City fan. I am 25 years of age and look at things from a realistic point of view. I like to think my opinion is witty, fair and interesting.


    Picture

    Share the BlueBlog!

    I would like to write for you!

    I am interested in writing articles for other websites or blogs. Should you enjoy my writing and you would like to enquire about my services please do not hesitate to contact me.


    Categories

    All
    Fantasy Football
    Poll
    Premier League
    Quick Questions
    The Fa Cup
    Transfers
    Wallpaper
    Wembley
    What Next


    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    November 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011



    View The BlueBlog Stats